weather icon Clear

Candidates forum March 15 for VEA Board Seats

A candidates’ forum will be conducted March 15 at the Valley Conference Center for the four candidates for the District 6 seat on the Valley Electric Association Board of Directors.

Four Pahrump residents are seeking one open seat in the North Pahrump District, which includes areas of the town north of Highway 372. The candidates include David Dawson, the incumbent; Paul Healey, Paul Hobson and Tracie Ward. (For more information on each candidate, please go to www.vea.coop.

The forum will be open to the public, however, only VEA members of District 6 are allowed to vote in the election.

Ballots for the Board seat were mailed to VEA members on Feb. 21. Members have until Thursday, March 23, to cast their ballots in person at the VEA office or at the District 6 meeting, which will be conducted March 23 at the Valley Conference Center.

Members can also vote online by following the link on the VEA website (www.vea.coop) or return their ballots by mail. All mailed ballots must be postmarked by March 10.

The election process is conducted by SBS, a national company that assists in the election process for cooperatives across the county.

Members can submit questions in advance of the March 15 forum at webmarketing@vea.coop or in writing during the forum, which will begin at 6:30 p.m.

Each year, two of the six seats on the Board are up for election. Incumbent Ken Derschan and Michael Conlan will face off in District 5 (Sandy Valley).

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
See those lights in the sky? More could be coming.

Sky watchers got their fill of objects in the sky after the launch of dozens of communications satellites Tuesday.

Biden plan could mean 83K jobs in Silver State, researcher says

More than 80,000 child care and prekindergarten jobs could be created in Nevada if President Joe Biden’s $1.8 trillion American Families Plan comes to fruition, new research shows.

Citing current efforts, Rosen opposes ‘vaccine passports’

Sen. Jacky Rosen said Tuesday she does not support requiring vaccine passports for local events, pointing to continued COVID-19 mitigation efforts and improving vaccination rates.

Flags ordered half-staff in honor of law enforcement memorial ceremony

Nevada Gov. Steve Sisolak ordered U.S. and Nevada state flags to half-staff at the state capitol and state public buildings and grounds beginning Thursday until sunset in honor of the 2021 Nevada Law Enforcement Memorial Ceremony.

Several shots fired in local neighborhood

The sounds of gunfire and loud music led to the arrest of a Pahrump man on Sunday, May 2.

Live chat added to state vaccine website

The state Division of Public and Behavioral Health and Immunize Nevada have partnered to bring users of Nevada’s vaccine portal a live chat option.

Delays expected on US 95, near Highway 160

Motorists heading through the area of U.S. Highway 95, just south of Highway 160, should expect delays up to 30 minutes on Tuesday.

Balloon festival returns to Pahrump

Numerous families and individuals turned out for the four-day Pahrump Balloon Festival.

Marijuana grow site discovered in Death Valley

The discovery of a marijuana grow site in Death Valley National Park has led to the temporary closure of a remote, rarely visited section of the park.