weather icon Clear

Nye County voters decide on Nevada candidates

Democrat Steven Horsford and Republican Cresent Hardy are well on their way to an election face off for the second time in four years in Nevada’s 4th Congressional District.

Early returns Tuesday showed the two former lawmakers headed to a November runoff. Horsford was the first elected representative of the district when it was created in 2013. But Hardy defeated him two years later before losing the seat to Democrat Ruben Kihuen in 2016.

Horsford had nearly 64 percent of the vote and Hardy had nearly 45 percent when returns were released.

Horsford led five other candidates, including state Sen. Pat Spearman, Regent Allison Stephens and the race’s most progressive contender, Amy Vilela.

Hardy also led five opponents with less campaign cash, fewer endorsements and not as much name recognition.

Horsford, 45, a small business owner, gathered Tuesday with a roomful of supporters at his campaign office in North Las Vegas. He raised $360,194 as of May and won endorsements from former Vice President Joe Biden and the powerful Culinary Workers Union Local 226.

Hardy raised $318,533 and had been endorsed by the National Rifle Association. Hardy on Tuesday made a stop at an Election Night Watch Party hosted by the Republican National Committee and the Nevada Republican Party.

Nevada governor

Republican Attorney General Adam Laxalt cruised to the GOP nomination in the Nevada governor’s race, with the Associated Press calling the race just an hour after polls closed.

Laxalt, who was publicly endorsed via Tweet Tuesday by President Donald Trump, had received more than 67 percent of the vote in Clark County in the initial batch of vote tallies that were released Tuesday, consisting mostly of early voting and absentee ballots.

His closest competitor, state Treasurer Dan Schwartz, had received roughly 10 percent of the vote as of 8 p.m. Schwartz quickly conceded.

On the Democratic side, Steve Sisolak led Chris Giunchigliani by more than 22 percentage points in Clark County.

Nevada’s first primary election using a new statewide system included some hiccups but largely went smoothly.

Some voters reported equipment problems at some voting centers on Tuesday. Nevada secretary of state spokeswoman Jennifer Russell said there appeared to be isolated incidents reported in polling sites in Clark and Washoe counties.

“The state has followed up on every report and action has been taken in every instance to address the reported issues,” Russell said in an email. “Every voter who has reported machine errors has been able to cast a ballot today.”

Polls closed at 7 p.m. Tuesday.

For the first time in a statewide election, residents could cast their ballot at any voting center in their registered county.

U.S. Senate

A total of 16 Nevada candidates were seeking a seat in the U.S. Senate, filing for the position that’s up for election this year.

Incumbent Dean Heller faced a field of four other Republicans in the June 12 primary election. Included were fellow GOP members Sherry Brooks, Sarah Gazala, Vic Harrell and Tom Heck.

On the opposite side of the political fence, six Democrats were competing for senator. Well-known Democrat Jacky Rosen decided to give up her position as a congresswoman for a chance at the U.S. Senate seat. She, Daniel “Danny” Burleigh, David Drew Knight, Sujeet “Bobby” Mahendra, Allen Rheinhart and Jesse Sbaih battled it out in the primary with the winner to head to the election in November.

Others to be included in the November general election for U.S. Senate are those registered with a third political party or no party at all. Kamau Bakari is the sole Independent American registered for the race. Richard “Ricardo” Charles and Barry Michaels have opted to select no political party affiliation and Tim Hagan is the only Libertarian to enter this race.

Other state races

For lieutenant governor, voters on Tuesday were deciding between Republicans Eugene Hoover, Brent Jones, Scott Anthony LaFata, Gary Anthony Meyers and current state senator Michael Roberson in the primary, as well as Democrats Laurie Hansen and Kate Marshall. Whoever took the Republican and Democratic primary will head to the general election to face Independent American Janine Hansen and Ed Uehling of no political party.

The state treasurer primary race included Republicans Bob Beers and Derek Uehara. Democrat Zach Conine and Independent American Bill Hoge will contend in November against the winner of this primary.

The state controller race included Republican incumbent Ron Knecht and Democrat Catherine Byrne. This race went directly to the general election with no primary necessary.

Secretary of State Barbara Cegavske is running for re-election against fellow Republican Ernest Aldridge in the primary. Democrat Nelson Araujo will battle with whoever wins the primary in the general election.

Nevada attorney general is another race in which the seat will be unencumbered by an incumbent candidate, as Laxalt has decided to run for governor.

Republicans who have thrown their hat in the ring for Nevada AG are Wes Duncan and Craig Mueller. Democrats include Aaron Ford and Stuart MacKie. Joel Hansen has filed for the AG’s race as an Independent American.

— Compiled from reports by Robin Hebrock of the Pahrump Valley Times and the Las Vegas Review-Journal.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Harry Reid: Switch to primaries everywhere, make Nevada first

Former U.S. Sen. Harry Reid said in a statement Sunday that the Democratic Party should abandon caucuses everywhere and switch to primary elections to nominate the president instead.

DEBRA J. SAUNDERS: Trump’s own criminal justice reform

President Donald Trump has done what criminal justice reforms have championed for years, but is it more about him than about justice?

Chamber of Commerce attracts new carnival provider

Though rain showers put a damper on Saturday’s flights during the three-day annual Pahrump Balloon Festival, the carnival portion was not affected.

Pahrump Arts Council hosts first ever art sale fundraiser

Facing an unexpected loss of funding through alleged embezzlement by a former board member, the Pahrump Arts Council has been hard at work striving to recoup some of that money.

Wells Fargo reaches $3 billion settlement over fake-accounts scandal

Wells Fargo &Co. entered into agreements with the Justice Department and the Securities and Exchange Commission to settle investigations by both agencies over its fraudulent fake-account scandal.

Nevada had $60M in Medicaid overpayments, audit finds

The overpayments stemmed from undetected or unreported wage increases for recipients that either would have reduced benefit payments or terminated them from the program.

Nevadans urged to get Real IDs ahead of Oct. 1 deadline

As Oct. 1 creeps closer Nevada residents who haven’t gotten their Real ID are urged to step on it to avoid possible long lines.

California Lottery

No one matched all five numbers and the mega number in the Saturday, Feb. 22 drawing of the California Super Lotto. The next jackpot will be at least $11 million.

Nevada attorney general files lawsuit over ERA

After the state of Virginia’s vote to become the 38th and final state needed to ratify the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) last month, Nevada Attorney General Aaron D. Ford filed a lawsuit in late January to ensure the amendment is added to the U.S. Constitution, which would guarantee equal rights for all women, according to a news release issued from Ford’s office.

Buttigieg takes Nye County with Sanders sweeping Nevada

The Nevada Democratic Caucus is now at an end and presidential candidate Bernie Sanders has been declared the winner in the Silver State, with a commanding lead at 6,788 county delegates, according to the state party’s results website.