weather icon Partly Cloudy

Daffer slides into first place in Speedway Super Stocks

The tightest race this season at Pahrump Valley Speedway is the Super Stocks, in which a one-spot advantage on a given Saturday night can mean a one-point difference in the standings.

That’s exactly what happened Sept. 26, as Dale Daffer took a one-point lead at the top of the season standings by finishing second to Jim Wulfenstein.

Daffer pocketed 36 points for that effort, one more than Ron Moffatt earned for taking third place, and that pushed Daffer to a 201-200 edge for the year. Wulfenstein, who has raced just twice in Super Stocks this season, moved into sixth place with the win.

Timothy Murphy is entrenched firmly in third place with 164 points after finishing fourth, as neither Tyson Talkington nor Darius Mann, fourth and fifth in the standings, ran that night.

There are 34 Mini Stock drivers in the standings, the most of any class, and Brandon Jones took the checkered flag to slip into fourth place overall by three points over the idle RJ Smotherman. Richie Hearn finished second in his fourth Mini Stock race of the year, and Dylin Smotherman moved into sixth place in the standings by taking third.

Among the points leaders, first-place Tanner Reynolds finished seventh, runner-up Mike Wills took fifth and third-place Aaron Pike-Ceballos ran fourth.

Joel Dean has a healthy lead in the Sport Mods, and he added a couple of points onto that edge by winning that race. While Dean is closing in on a hundred-point lead, the next three drivers are in a tight battle.

Jeff Murphy finished second to pull within two points of third-place Josh Stringer, who finished fourth, while second-place Joe Wabsis stayed four points ahead of Stringer by finishing third.

Brady Gladd solidified his hold on the Modifieds with his victory, increasing his season point total to 275. Vinny Raucci, running for the second time this year, finished second, and Brad Hopkins, who sits in eighth place, finished third in his third Modified race of the season.

Running in his fourth Hobby Stock race of the year, Jacob Quartard earned his first victory, beating out Dave Lowenstein and Jay Ward. Jared Ward, who did not run, remains in first place, while second-place Adam Tiscarao finished fourth and third-place Debbie Ward ran seventh.

Mark Daub added a point to his lead in Coupes over Daniel Bruner, as they one-two again. Red Kowal, in his second consecutive race after not running Coupes all year, finished third.

The Mini Dwarfs are always a crowd-pleaser, and on this night the speedway featured two classes of them.

Anthony Montanez won the Mini Dwarf Senior race, outgunning Tanner Gott and Oden Padilla-King. They were followed by Shae Pooler, Levi Hoarhey, Jace Jensen and Kohlzin Park.

In the Mini Dwarf Junior race, Kendra Jones came out on top, beating out Ryder Reynolds and Halen Sunter. They were followed by Skye Plunkett, Riley Stringer and Rafael Flores.

Racing returns to Pahrump Valley Speedway on Saturday, Oct. 10, with Mini Stocks, Super Stocks, Coupes, Hobby Stocks, Modifieds, Sport Mods and Micro Sprints on the card. Racing begins at 7 p.m. Adult tickets are $10, $8 for over 55, $6 for children aged 6-14 and free for children under 5. A family six-pack for two adults and four kids under 14 is $30.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Pahrump pitchers sweep Group B at Oasis Fall Open

Three pitchers from Pahrump swept the top spots in the Group B to highlight the Oasis Fall Open horseshoes tournament Saturday at Oasis Las Vegas RV Resort.

Ward increases Hobby Stocks lead at Pahrump Valley Speedway

Jared Ward tacked 3 points on to his lead in the season standings by winning the Hobby Stock race during the Oct. 10 racing night at Pahrump Valley Speedway.

Dilger captures Octofest horseshoes tournament title

It was one of the most competitive tournaments on the Nevada State Horseshoe Pitchers Association calendar, with three players in Group A finishing the round-robin format at 4-2.

Pahrump Trojans Gold wins Pink the Park baseball tournament

After losing in the title game of their previous tournament in Bullhead City, Arizona, the Trojans Gold baseball club was determined to show the coaches they were not satisfied just by reaching the final.

Pahrump Valley Speedway draws largest number of cars this season

Dan Snowden raced in the Sport Mod class for the first time in 10 racing nights and put himself in the standings with his victory Sept. 12 at Pahrump Valley Speedway.

Pahrump team wins 3 of 4 in Arizona baseball tournament

For the first time in six months, baseball players from Pahrump took the field in live competition, and the results were mostly encouraging.

Dilger, Study team to win Mike’s Midnight Madness

With the Nevada State Horseshoe Pitching Association championships in Tonopah just weeks away, Pahrump pitchers have been getting ready by competing in both NSHPA-sanctioned tournaments and the more informal backyard series tournaments.

PVLL to elect board members at Oct. 1 meeting

Pahrump Valley Little League will hold a meeting Thursday, Oct. 1 to elect board members.

Hundreds remember Dusty Park at Pahrump Valley Speedway

It was billed as a Celebration of Life for Dusty Park, and much of the afternoon felt like a celebration. There was laughter and sharing stories among the several hundred people who gathered Sunday at Pahrump Valley Speedway to remember him.