weather icon Clear

Ward increases Hobby Stocks lead at Pahrump Valley Speedway

Jared Ward tacked 3 points on to his lead in the season standings by winning the Hobby Stock race during the Oct. 10 racing night at Pahrump Valley Speedway.

Ward was the only standings leader to win his race that night, picking up 36 points to extend his lead over Adam Tiscarao to 397-375. Tiscarao placed fourth in the race, behind second-place Jeff Murphy and third-place Jay Ward.

Rafael Flores won the Sport Mod class for the first time in four starts, beating out Dan Snowden, Joel Dean and Joe Wabsis for the checkered flag. Dean continues to lead the season points chase; by finishing one spot ahead of Wabsis he increased his lead by a point, and it now stands at 413-324.

Dean has started every race since opening night, while Wabsis has missed three races during the season. Neither third-place Josh Stringer nor fourth-place Jeff Murphy started Saturday night, and they remain 2 points apart. Alex Murphy moved into fifth place in the standings and now trails Jeff Murphy by 7.

In Modifieds, Bryan Wulfenstein won his second consecutive start, finishing ahead of Brady Gladd and Shaun Moore. Gladd continues to hold a hefty lead in the standings at 312 points, as neither second-place Rick Durica (247) and third-place Aaron Keller (228) did not start.

RJ Smotherman took the checkered flag in the Mini Stock race, trailed by Eric Mewhorter, Tanner Reynolds and Jason Cowie. With several drivers in the top 10 not running Saturday night, the 40 points Smotherman picked up for the win pushed him into fourth place, 21 points behind second-place Aaron Pike-Ceballos, who finished seventh.

Tanner Reynolds’ third-place finish boosted his lead in Mini Stocks to 98 points. Reynolds has run every night of the season, the only driver in the class to do so.

Starting in the Super Stocks for the third time this year, Tony Kinkade beat out Tyson Talkington and Dale Daffer for the victory. Daffer quadrupled his lead in the tightest class at the speedway; his 38 points boosted his total to 239, 4 points ahead of Ron Moffatt, who finished sixth for 35 points.

Nine drivers competed in the Super Stock race, a high for the season in a class which was not run several times earlier in the year.

Meanwhile, only four drivers ran in the Micro Sprints, with Blaze Silva winning for the first time this season. Points leader Eddie Chacon finished in second place, opening up a 40-point lead over Jason Funk, who did not run. Danielle Banks finished third and Chase Silva finished fourth.

Racing returns to Pahrump Valley Speedway on Saturday, Oct. 24, with Mini Stocks, Super Stocks, Coupes, Hobby Stocks, Modifieds, Sport Mods and Micro Sprints on tap. Tickets are $10 for adults, $8 for over 55, $6 for children 6 to 14 and free for children 5 and under. A family six-pack for two adults and four kids under 14 is available for $30. Racing starts at 7 p.m.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Raiders announce grants for community nonprofit programs

The Las Vegas Raiders and the Raiders Foundation are proud to announce the Community Investment Grant Program, a new initiative dedicated to assisting nonprofit organizations obtain funding for their work in the community. The program enables Nevada-based entities to join forces with the Raiders to help produce services that effect positive change throughout the Silver State.

Best In The Desert releases its full racing schedule for 2021 season

Best In The Desert announced recently it has finalized its racing schedule for 2021, with events including timeless classics such as the BlueWater Parker 425, the Tensor Tire Parker 250, the Silver State 300, the Maxxis Tires Casey Folks Vegas to Reno, the King Shocks Desert Classic and the BlueWater Desert Challenge, which will take place on two separate weekends of racing.

UNLV continues to play musical chairs at quarterback

Max Gilliam has started all five games and received the bulk of playing time, but the Rebels have used four quarterbacks this season, including Doug Brumfield on Friday.

Johnson wins Division A at Pahrump Valley Tournament Bowling Club event

Dave Johnson rolled games of 234, 243 and 242 to post a 34-pin margin and win Division A at the Pahrump Valley Tournament Bowling Club’s Snakebite/10 pin/9 pin No Tap tournament on Nov. 21 at the Pahrump Nugget Bowling Center.

Zuloaga, Dilger team to win Jefferson’s Halloween Haunt

DJ Zuloaga and Lathan Dilger defeated Dennis and Chad Andersen for the second time to win Jefferson’s Halloween Haunt horseshoes tournament Friday, Oct. 30 in Pahrump.

Pahrump Valley Rodeo Club seeking sponsors, raising money

The Pahrump Valley Junior High and High School Rodeo Club will host its annual high school rodeo in conjunction with Pahrump Valley Days in February, and sponsors are needed to help fund the event.

Jared, Debbie Ward hold top two positions in Hobby Stocks

Jared Ward’s third consecutive Hobby Stock victory added a point to the slimmest margin between first and second place of any class during the Nov. 7 racing at Pahrump Valley Speedway.

Inexperience shows as Pahrump Maroon goes 1-3 in Bullhead

The Pahrump Trojans Maroon baseball club was back in Bullhead City, Arizona, last weekend, and on the paper the trip was not a pleasant one. The Trojans ended the first day 0-2, seeded 10th of 12 teams, and managed just one win in four games, a one-run game Sunday morning, as they finished the Double Play 16+ tournament by being outscored 30-13.