weather icon Clear

Nye deputy sheriff remains hospitalized

Nye County Sheriff’s Office Lt. David Boruchowitz provided an update on Deputy Duane Downing’s condition this week.

Boruchowitz said Downing remains in stable condition at UMC Trauma in Las Vegas after being struck by a vehicle in Tonopah last month.

“The latest update on Deputy Downing’s condition is that he’s still stable, which is obviously important at a time like this, so it’s good news,” he said. “I recently have been in contact with his wife, and she anticipates a more in-depth update later this week on Friday. As of right now, we are just patiently waiting. As it is with any kind of injury such as this, it’s a matter of waiting to let the body recover and heal.”

In regard to the driver who struck Downing, Boruchowitz said investigators from the Nevada Highway Patrol are handling the matter.

On Tuesday, June 12, Trooper Matt McLaughlin said the driver is cooperating with the investigation.

“As far as any charges being filed, I will have to check with the sergeant of the team that is handling that crash to see if he has any updates on it,” McLaughlin said. “As of last week, nothing has changed on that end of it.”

The driver has not been identified by the NHP.

Downing was struck by the vehicle while directing traffic during a car fire in Tonopah on May 21.

Downing also is the chairman of the Tonopah Town Board.

Contact reporter Selwyn Harris at sharris@pvtimes.com. On Twitter: @pvtimes

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Nellis airman killed in US 95 rollover crash near Nye County

Four Nellis Air Force airmen were seriously injured and one died after a rollover crash early Wednesday on U.S. Highway 95 near Lee Canyon Road.

10 firearms stolen from Pahrump home

The Nye County Sheriff’s Office is seeking information on the theft of multiple firearms from a local home.

Pahrump’s Mountain Falls gets thumbs up for 52 more homes

After delaying a request for approval for a tentative subdivision map for Mountain Falls, the Nye County Commission readdressed the item at its July 16 meeting, eventually giving the tentative map the green light with a 4-1 vote.

Helping hands turn Pahrump house into home

The Pahrump Valley Rotary Club is an organization dedicated to community service, touting the slogan, “service above self” and it is always actively seeking ways to help the community it calls home.

Pahrump nonprofit enhancing its space through grant

A Pahrump nonprofit that focuses on addiction rehabilitation services has gotten a boost from the Home Depot Foundation.

Nye County District Attorney’s Report

Editor’s note: The Nye County District Attorney’s Report is provided by the office of DA Chris Arabia. Plans call for it to be provided on a monthly basis as the information becomes available. Duplicate names represent separate cases. See pvtimes.com for a look at recent DA reports.

Celebration set for brownfields project in Nye County

The community is invited to attend a celebration marking the first successful brownfield cleanup completed by the Nevada Rural Brownfields Partnership utilizing the revolving loan fund, the Rural Desert Southwest Brownfields Coalition announced.