weather icon Clear

Zane swept northern vote in last week’s primary

Mark Zane, a former undersheriff under Harold “Stick” Davis, finished ahead in the sheriff’s race in northern Nye County, according to a canvass of election day voting.

Zane polled 202 of the 383 votes cast on election day in Tonopah, Precinct 14.

Former Nye County Sheriff’s Capt. Bill Becht, who was third overall in the county, finished second in Precinct 14 with 60 votes, Det. Eric Murphy was third with 42 votes, county front-runner Sharon Wehrly was fourth with 35 votes and second place finisher overall, Assistant Sheriff Rick Marshall, was fifth with 19 votes.

Only 10 votes were cast in the other Tonopah precinct, Precinct 15 and the county clerk’s office didn’t publish those results to protect voter privacy.

Zane is president of Zane Investigations, a private investigative company that does process serving, repossession and private security. He was recently the subject of a lawsuit over seizing the property of a defendant awaiting trial for meth trafficking.

Zane began work at the sheriff’s office in 1980 and was appointed undersheriff in 1983; he ran in the 1990 election for sheriff, losing to Wade Lieseke Jr. in the primary.

After the 1990 election, Zane went to work for newly-elected District Attorney Bob Beckett until county commissioners terminated his position due to budget issues.

He then sued the county and settled the case in court. Zane also ran for Tonopah justice of the peace in 1994.

The county canvassing only broke out precinct results for election day voting, early voting was done at only two locations in Pahrump and Tonopah.

Zane won Round Mountain with 17 of the 55 election day votes.

He also won Smoky Valley with 45 of the 113 votes, half of the 36 votes in Manhattan and was second to Wehrly in Beatty, with 63 votes to Wehrly’s 70. Marshall placed second in Beatty with 29. Becht was third with 14 votes.

Becht originally endorsed Zane until deciding to run for sheriff himself.

In Gabbs, where Marshall began his career as a deputy with the Nye County Sheriff’s Department, Marshall took 22 of the 77 votes to finish first. Galen Morgan “the constitutional sheriff” was second with 12 and Zane picked up 11 votes.

Wehrly won the election day vote in Amargosa Valley with 40 of the 130 votes, followed by Becht, 26 and Marshall 18.

In pivotal Pahrump, Marshall won only two of the 19 precincts with 999 votes, to Wehrly’s 1,443 votes.

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.
Sportsman’s Quest: Marines and a holiday hunt

In my last column I wrote about my “successful elk hunt” with my artist friend, Justin Young. It was a great adventure, but my freezer was still empty.

Fugitive who fled after woman’s attack found hiding in travel trailer

Ryan Sanders, 37, of Pahrump,who fled from authorities following the kidnapping and brutal attack of a Pahrump woman last week has been taken into custody by Nye County Sheriff’s Office deputies and assisting agencies.

2 cannabis lounges OK’d for Nye

KV Group LLV and GGCPA SE Inc. both plan to launch local lounges, where adults will be allowed to smoke, vape and consume cannabis products onsite.

Nascar tickets up for grabs at Bowl-A-Thon

This Sunday, the Pahrump Nugget Bowling Center will be taken over by supporters of America’s heroes during the Wounded Warriors Bowl-A-Thon and event organizer Denise Flanagan is excited to announce the addition of an extraordinarily generous donation to the cause.

Here are the plans for Front Sight firearms facility

When Front Sight Firearms Training Institute filed for bankruptcy in May, many feared that would mark the end for the nation’s largest firearms training center. But the site is expected to be revived under new ownership.

Nye County tribe faced voting barriers this election

The Yomba Shoshone Tribe had difficulty getting an in-person polling location for the 2022 midterms. Tribes across Nevada and Indian Country face barriers in accessing the voting booth.

Bowl-A-Thon to benefit Wounded Warriors

Hosted by local veteran Denise Flanagan, all of the money raised at the Bowl-A-Thon will be donated to Wounded Warrior Project, an organization that supports veterans.