weather icon Clear

Here’s who filed as political candidates in Nye County

Locals have filed their political candidacy as of March 15 and this year two major offices in Nye County will be up for grabs in the general election. Nye County residents have to first narrow down their preferred party candidate on June 11 in the primary and then vote in November to support their preferred candidates.

The county is losing two commissioners from District 2 and 3 that represent half of Pahrump. Frank Carbone and Donna Cox did not file for re-election. Cox and Carbone both won their races in 2012 by over 50 percent.

Here is the list of local candidates who filed by deadline:

Nye County Commission District 1:

Bruce Jabbour (Incumbent) (Republican)

Darryl Lackey (Non-partisan)

Diana Dee Crawford (Democrat)

Gerald Butler (Independent)

Nye County Commission District 2:

Beth Borysewich (Republican)

Dan Blackstone (Republican)

John Koenig (Republican)

Salli Kerr (Republican)

Nye County Commission District 3:

Heath Campbell (Republican)

Tamie Pitman (Republican)

Ian Bayne (Republican)

John Dean Wehrly (Republican)

Edward Eugene O’Brien (Republican)

Gerald Schulte (Republican)

Louis Baker (Independent)

Northern Nye County Hospital District Board of Trustrees:

Charles Seaton Keller

Nye County School Board Trustee, Area I:

Leslie Campos (Incumbent)

Jeffrey Witten

Nye County School Board Trustee, Area II:

Robert C. White (Incumbent)

Nye County School Board Trustee, Area IV:

Lawrence R. Small (Incumbent)

Nye County School Board Trustee, Area VI:

Chelsea Silva-Avalos (Incumbent)

David Harris

Vehicle in garage destroyed by fire

No serious injuries were reported after fire gutted a vehicle inside the garage of a home along the 2400 block of Zuni Avenue on Wednesday, April 10.

Need a good laugh? Join in a night of hilarious scholarship fundraising

Promising a “laugh-your-ass-off” night of hilarity and musical diversion, Sanders Family Winery is all set to host the Kiwanis Club of the Pahrump Valley Scholarship Fundraiser and its sure to be an amusing time for all involved.

$6.2M allocated to 10 projects

Nye County has earmarked about $6.2 million of its $12 million in Local Assistance and Tribal Consistency Fund (LATCF) grant dollars for a total of 10 projects throughout the county.

GALLERY: Winners of the Pins & Needles Quilt Show

The Bob Ruud Community Center was transformed into a world of color and design during the 19th Annual Pins and Needles Quilt Show, a yearly event that offers a stage to fabric artists of all kinds while giving the community to chance to admire their array of masterpieces.

Nye County loans itself $5.78 million to shore up reserves

In an effort to shore up the financial reserves used to cover cash flow issues in the county general fund, Nye County is loaning itself $5.78 million.

Former Pahrump town manager dies

Bill Kohbarger suffered a brain aneurysm last week, according to his wife Lisa.

NyECC hosting weekly game nights — here’s how to join

Without positive social outlets, teens and young adults can easily find their way to troublesome avenues of expression, a reality that NyE Communities Coalition staffer Dale Willis knows from experience. That’s why, with the help of grant funding and a lot of personal passion, Willis has brought a brand new recreation option to the town – Tabletop Game Nights.

Butterfly Release to honor lost loved ones

A swirl of swallowtails will take to the sky this coming Sunday during the always moving Pahrump Butterfly Release, an annual event sponsored by Nathan Adelson Hospice.

Westfield Jewelers hosts Grand Re-Opening celebration

When it comes to local success stories, Josh Westerman and Darbie O’Donnell-Westerman are two prime examples of the entrepreneurial spirit.

Sun shines on Easter at Simkins

Though the previous day was a very rainy one indeed, Easter at Simkins Park was blessed with practically picture-perfect weather on Sunday, setting the stage for a day of celebration with friends and family.